Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Back!

    January 1, 2018 in Romania ⋅ ☀️ 8 °C

    Since I had two weeks off over Christmas and New Year I decided to fly back to Romania where i stayed for four months in 2006. I’ve been very lucky having the best of the best host family you can imagine. Ana, then 14 and her parents Gica and Vasile made me feel at home right away. And the food. Gica is the best cook ever. I haven’t been back but for a short visit in 2007 so I figured it was time to visit those wonderful people again. I had the plane on the frist day of 2018 to Bucuresti where I would meet Theodora and her family. How I met them back in 2006 came from a coincidence: Every week in Braşov I visited a classical concert. One evening, as I was buying tickets I heard two older men getting tickets in a heavy swiss accented English. As I am I started to speak with them. They actually had or created a Organ and Caprenter school in Harman, not far away from Braşov since there are about 1500 organs in former German churches that need renovation. They invited me to visit the school and there I was introduced to two students, Andreea and Gheorges. We became friends and we spent several sunday afternoons in Harman playing cards and drinking red wine mixed with coke. We visited Bucuresti with them and that’s how I met Theodora, which is Gheorges sister. Since she speaks French we got along very well and stayed in touch until now. So I got picked up by her, her husband and the younger son, Nikita. It makes such a difference when someone is wating for you at the airport! We went to Theo’s apartment, which is in a big, old communist block. She asked me if I wanted to go to their little house in the country the other day. Then I could take a bus from Curtea de Argeş to Braşov where I would meet my host parents. Of course I wanted! So they changed cars since it needed 4WD to get there.
    For dinner we went one floor up to Theo’s parents, where her sister lives, too, with her boyfriend. Gheorges and his wife Claudia came aswell, so good to see them all again and seeing that they are doing well. Andreea, btw, is now in Austria. We had dinner and then soon I was so tired from the short night that i slept deeply next the the christmas tree.
    Read more