Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 18

    Walking Day 13 to Arzua

    June 7, 2023 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 66 °F

    Started in the dark this morning, it had rained heavily last night and was still raining lightly to moderately. I soon got ahead of the group and was walking alone. It's a little more difficult to walk with someone else in the rain because it's difficult to hear with the hoods up. At some point i missed a turn and got on a complimentario route. I don't have maps, so i had to decide to go forward or back. There was absolutely no one around to ask. Lost in Spain. I pressed forward and i rejoined the main trail in about 200 meters. It rained nearly all day and quite heavily at times. I walked and had lunch with a mother daughter team from London,Addie and Brie. They helped me map my route to the Casa Maia, my room for tonight. Tired, after 19 miles walking, there was no one there to let me into my room. I messaged them, but i got no response. I sat for about an hour waiting, then decided to walk to the apartment the other 5 had rented and get my luggage. Doug was able get a hold of Casa de Maia, so by time I returned with my luggage i could get in. There is one other couple sharing the apartment. John and Elaine from New Zealand ,the are walking the Camino, starting in France. I asked them if they wanted to join our group for dinner and they accepted. Each evening it is new collection of international new best friends. Everyone is welcomed and invited to the table. There is something sacred about thatRead more