Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 5 - Esposende to Carreço

    April 27 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    Christ on a cracker, that was a tough day!!
    Out by 8am and it was raining. And it carried on raining. And then it rained some more. And then, three hours in… sunshine! Bright, beautiful, burning sunshine!!
    A lot of walking through villages, but also some amazing forests, where I was very glad for my walking poles. A slight incident with another walker at a café left me seething - I mean, who just takes someone else’s coffee assuming it’s yours?!? - so I’ve had to try extra hard to be upbeat today.
    For the first time ever I turned to an audiobook to keep me going, and to shut the voices in my head who kept saying “why not just catch a taxi?”. Which I did, but only when I got to Viana do Castelo and just couldn’t face those last four miles in what looked to be rain again. And I was right, as it started raining as soon as the taxi pulled up to the door of Casa do Avô Horácio, where the owner sat me down, made me a coffee and have me biscuits with his home made marmalade 😊

    Also, met the most amazing cat with only half a tail - check out the video!
    Read more