Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Day 19 - To Castrojeriz

    September 27, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Day 19 - To Castrojeriz
    (pr. Castro-heriz)
    20 km; Difficulty 2/3

    Some mornings I have to drag my butt onto the trail, and some mornings I'm good to go. Today was the latter. Despite having a poor sleep because I was cold, dehydrated, and had a headache, I had energy. It was foggy this morning. Enough to make my hair and scarf wet. But it still made for a beautiful sunrise. I had never heard of a “fog bow“ until today. It’s like a rainbow but with fog.

    It stays dark later in the mornings, and is colder. It’s often around 5° to 7°C and I do not have warm clothes…. as I previously mentioned! I’m still moping about it! Since I missed shopping in Burgos, every village I stay at I hope to be able to buy some clothes, but no luck. Most villages are far too small. Some as few as 60 people…..or less.

    A couple photos of a mini church off to the side of the path where pilgrims can enter to pray if they want to while on the trail.

    A different kind of candle than I usually light. Mine is at the 11 o’clock position from the little green candle! 🕯

    Ruins of the San Anton convent (order of Saint Anthony) just before arriving at Castrojeriz. San Anton is the patron saint of animals and people bring their pets to be blessed on his saint’s day.

    PS. The next blog “To Fromista” somehow accidentally uploaded without being finished. It is complete now.
    Read more