Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    All Gender Bathrooms

    August 24, 2022 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    I have no pictures for this post just a story.

    Since we have arrived in the Maritimes I have seen many all gender washrooms. My experience with this type of washroom could be going better.
    First experinece. We went to The Guild, a theatre in Charlottetown, to see The Ross Family Caliegh. The concert was very good. At intermission I went to the washroom, there were two doors. Both said All Gender. I started to walk towards one and a man came out. I thought to myself this might not be a good idea. Just as I had this thought a woman came out of the other door. So I thanked the universe for pointing me in the right direction. I went in and it was clearly a woman's washroom. Three stalls and an area away from the sinks just for doing makeup. Another thought went through my head, is this what it is like in the other washroom? It would be quite uncomfortable if a man was in here, but maybe the people of PEI are more advanced in this type of thinking. As I left the washroom I noticed the fine print on the sign. it said 'ALL GENDER without urinals'. Yup the universe really did take care of me. I just about walked into the 'with urinals' bathroom😶. There were people who worked at the theatre who more than likely were watching where I was going, can't imagine what they were thinking. Lesson learned - read the fine print.

    Second experinece. We went to the Olde Dublin Pub for lunch. Gerard wanted $1 oysters, which he said we're very good. He's really been enjoying the seafood since we got to the Maritimes but has particularly enjoyed it since we have gotten to PEI, but I digress. Anyways, the bar had the type of bathrooms that were one toilet behind a door with a women/man sign. Nothing complicated and something we all have seen before. Once again there were two doors. I watched someone go into the first. The second door was closed but being the person I am I checked the knob to see if it was locked. Nope not locked. To double check I knocked on the door. No answer. I opened the door still there was no sound. Once I stick my head in I saw a man in the bathroom. I didn't actually see anything but he was using the toilet. He was embarrassed, I was embarrassed. I closed the door and waited, hoping the other door would open and I could that toilet instead. But nope, the universe was not protecting me this time. The man came out all he could say was "I'm sorry" over and over. I couldn't even make eye contact with him. I just put my head down and covered my face. Lesson learned - I think I did all the right things, except maybe show some patience but really what if that bathroom wasn't being used? I think the lesson is if you are in a private public bathroom acknowledge the person on the other side if you hear the door knob rattling or some knocking.
    Read more