Satellitt
Vis på kartet
  • Dag 14

    Day 14 - Peterborough to Port Turton

    14. mai, Australia ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    Slow start this morning, had a late night with the Train Show. Quick stop at Chemist for Script, couple of things from Food Works and we left Peterborough.

    The most notable thing is how dry it is, I was talking to a lady last night and she mentioned how worried the farmers are that they have had no rain for months. The lady I spoke to is married to Bill Sauers brother, we had a lovely chat after the show, for those that don't know - Bill was my Plant Manager for 10 years (he employed me when I joined JBS) he is a lovely man and a good boss.

    We took a few back roads down the Peninsular (much to Wayne's annoyance) went through heaps of Wheat fields that are just stubble. Not what we expected, Wayne thought it would be timbered, I thought it would be green. Both wrong, very dry and desolate landscape. I was surprised that the Peninsular was so wide, I had a picture of driving down the middle and having water on both sides....very wrong. It was great to sea the ocean after being away from it for 2 weeks....we do love our water.

    Every mountain range has rows of Wind Turbines, not expecting to see these, there are a lot of properties covered with Solar Panels also, so they are obviously trying different ways to create/save electricity.

    We arrived at around 3.30 to the most awesome place to stay - Port Turton...what a surprise. Love it, tidy little caravan park right on the water, good amenities, grass sites and 2 minutes from a jetty which looks great for fishing. Walked down there as soon as we had set up camp (15 mins after arriving), talked to a few fishermen, and a local who gave us a couple of tips on places to see while we were here. A lady was swimming laps next to the jetty, said she does it most days (her time away from the kids), I told her I would probably join her tomorrow afternoon.

    There were about 10 different types of Stingrays in the water where she had been swimming and one huge one about 2m across, the lady jumped back in the water to steer it in my direction so I could get a photo, (which doesn't do it justice) Wayne said it is the biggest, fattest ray he has ever seen. The local man mentioned to us that it was the same Ray that killed Steve Irwin - Wayne of course replied with 'Gee it was come a long way' - the guy didn't get it.

    So excited to be back at the water and the Peninsular looks beautiful, can't wait to explore over the next four days. Forgot to mention I have solved the problem of trying to navigate on my phone (reading glasses) and see where we are actually driving (distance glasses) - see photo of how clever I am.....looks silly but it works.
    Les mer