Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Refuge Orisson

    August 15, 2023 in France ⋅ ☁️ 25 °C

    Arrrived at 5pm

    Kerry got a room!

    Sat down to take in the view at 6pm after a shower and laundry. It was a tough day - difficulty of this hike was 9/10 for me and I was definitely the slowest of the three of us.

    I also met Nick from Boston who is an actuary. He asked for time off and they said no so he said he'd quit so they relented and gave him two months off. He will be moving to a different branch when he returns in NY.

    Kerry is a power engineer who quit her job after 8 years and is taking a gap year. She has no idea what's next for her. Both were pretty fit and didn't seem to find the climb difficult.

    I, on the other hand, suffered a lot. The first little hill had a steep incline and it almost broke my spirit when I thought this was going to be how it would be for the rest of the hike. Fortunately the inclines alternated with flat ground but the last 30-40 minutes were the worst. It was mostly uphill and every 10 minutes felt like half an hour. I often stopped to catch my breath. I tried walking backwards to take the load off my back which worked for a bit. I tried carrying my pack in the front as well. It is definitely too heavy and I will need to see what I can shed to lighten the load.

    Nick was nice enough to carry my bag part of the way.

    What was the elevation of this walk?

    Token for a 5 minute shower and dinner would be served at 6:30

    There were 2 girls in the room with 3 bunk beds. The last lower bunk was claimed so I had to take a top bunk.
    Read more