Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Tampere

    August 19, 2017 in Finland ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Today I took a train ride to Tampere, home city of friend Jana's family. I was going to go to Hameenlinna on the way home to see a Medieval Festival but it got wet and cold when I arrived so decided to keep going to Helsinki and go tomorrow morning . The forecast is for sunny skies. 🌞🌞

    Tampere was well worth the visit just to come across this group of kids singing in the Cathedral! ! They were beautiful.
    This city had a different vibe to Helsinki, this is the home of heavy/black metal music and the people here look a lot like the band members of Nightwish - men have long hair and plaited beards, woman have heavy eye make up and they generally wear black. There are "normal " people too but the other was very obvious. They appear to like all sorts of music.
    I stumbled across Blockfest -"The tenth Blockfest will be held in Tampere on August 18th -19th 2017. The city festival has sold out in advance every year and has become the biggest hip hop event in the Nordic countries in a very short period of time. " They are going cashless this year - you load up your wristband from your bank account! Very clever 💲💲
    Tampere is also the home of the Moomin Museum. I went on the hunt for that - well I had to.. I was there... my little Moomin keyring wanted me to, Harald didn't mind.
    For tea €10 buffet from Kampin pippuri, a Turkish style meal (or pizza!). I had the Turkish tucker- very yummy, lots of fresh beans and salads, nice soup and chunky meatballs 👍🍜
    Read more