Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Hameenlinna medieval festival

    August 20, 2017 in Finland ⋅ 🌙 14 °C

    This morning I took the train back to Hameenlinna to see the Medieval Festival. It took longer for me to pack than I'd thought so didn't get going till 9.00 am so could only get the 10 oclock train. It takes an hour so I would get there at 11. I figured I could still get an hour or 2 in then go back to Helsinki to pick up my bags and taxi to the airport. The bags are too heavy and awkward to get the train.
    When I get to Hameenlinna I look at rhe board to see which train I need to go back on. I decide the 1 o'clock one should be safe. They trains run on time I found.
    It's a lovely sunny day and I think I'd like to stay all day but I can't of course.
    People are dressed in medieval costume, even many visitors and their children. There are many tents with stalls. Like most markets and festivals a lot of the same stuff is sold. I bought a nice bracelet. There was some great celtic music being played, piglets on spits, sheep around the moat. I really would've liked to have stayed.
    The festival is in the grounds of the Hame Castle which was open for a look.
    It was time to head back to the train station so a quick walk got me there. I checked the board and realised I had looked at the arrival board and not the departure board earlier!!!! So I'd missed the 12.30 I really needed. The next train didn't leave till 3pm- much too late. I thought **** oh dear, what will I do? I need to get to the airport and there's no train. I remember seeing 1 taxi outside so I asked him if he would drive me the 1 hour to Helsinki to get my bags and then the 20 minutes out to the airport at Vaanta. He said yes, I said thanks, I know it'll cost me a heap but I have to do it. I can't miss the plane or the cycle tour I'm booked on.
    So we make good time and get me to the airport 2 hours before departure. It only cost me €215 which I thought was pretty good. I was expecting it might have been much more. As it turned out we had great chats, teaching each other about our countries and culture, seeing other bits of the country and city that I hadn't seen before. So I figured it was a personal, chauffeured sightseeing trip I had paid for. Was worth it.
    Read more