Satellite
Show on map
  • Around the Bay day

    October 8, 2017 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    The big day, what a day!
    Guy and Fiona have left very early - around 5 am because they are doing the 250 km ride. Margie, Patrick and I leave around 6 for our 160 km ride.
    Patrick rides further than he thought he would. He gets 50 k to Frankston then the 2 Steve's pick him up in the car. Patrick then joins us later at St Kilda on the way back for the last leg with us so we can ride in together.
    Margie and I do the full 160 km to Rosebud and back, ouch! At the first stop I get the bike mechanic to check the bike as the chain is making a noise. He's shocked at how bad it is and surprised I got that far on it. He does a few repairs and I make it all the way back. Thankyou!!
    When we reach the halfway point at Rosebud our friends, Sandra and Pat meet us and say hi. It takes about 10 hours.
    Fiona and Guy eventually do the whole 250 km, about 14 hours.
    Fiona's parents and hubby Greg are at the finish line with champagne! Also at the finish line is the 2 Steve's, Patrick's wife, Julie, and Kevin. Ex Islanders Sue and Tony are also there.
    They all go out for tea but Steve and I just do Nando's around the corner as that's all I could face at that point.
    A great and very satisfying day.
    Read more