Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Darwin to Ampilatwatja via Alice Springs

    February 21, 2018 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 6 °C

    Today is a big travel day. I have to be on the 7 am flight from Darwin to Alice Springs. I get into Alice about 9 am where a driver from RAHC meets me at the airport. We then go to Woolworths for me to do a quick grocery shop and pick up my Remote Educator - an experienced RAN (Remote Area Nurse) who will come out with me for a few days.
    We then drive 4 hours to Ampilatwatja along the Sandover Highway, the first 100 k is narrow bitumen then a wide dirt road. There has been a bit of rain recently so there is quite a bit of greenery for this area and a few wild flowers on the side of the road.
    We arrive about 2 pm. We arrive just as the RFDS crew arrive to retrieve a patient. They work on the pt for another 4 hours before they leave. Therefore most of the staff are busy and have no time for me. One nurse is free but busy doing clinic consults so I'm thankful that I have Geraldine with me so she can do a bit of orientating with me. Riko, the business manager gives a tour and a general orientation of the clinic and the town. I think "What have I walked into?"
    And then guess what? They put me (and Geraldine) as first on call the first night I'm there without knowing anything! Thankfully, we don't get any call outs but I am interrupted at night by phonecalls from Alice Springs Hospital ICU calling about the pt flown down there. At 5 am they ring again to say the pt died at 4.30. I ring Soli the nurse manger to tell him and he and their Aboriginal Health worker go and tell the relatives. Welcome to outback nursing!
    Read more