Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Day 3 Fes Walkabout

    March 20, 2023 in Morocco ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    A local guide joins us and we explore Fes. Mainly the Old Medina. On the way we pop in to the Jewish cemetery, the royal palace and some market streets.
    Then we go on the minibus to "the panoramic view" which certainly let's you see the green countryside and the huge old Medina.

    We also go to a pottery co-op where we get shown how the pottery and mosaics are done with the option to shop. I bought a donkey for my toilet wall!! 🤣🤣
    There was so much beautiful stuff I could have bought but I have to cart it with me so restrained myself.

    Then into the Medina, we have 1 guide at the front, and one at the back keeping all 15 of us from getting lost. Again this is a place with very high walls and very narrow streets. It's easy to get lost. It claims to be the biggest Medina in Morocco - it is huge and jam packed.

    We visit a tannery that is done the ancient way in big vats and the opportunity to shop. I don't.
    When you walk in here they give you a sprig of mint - it's meant to cover the stink of the tannery, it doesn't!!

    By then it's lunch time in a beautiful Ryad. I had lamb and prune targine. Yummy.

    Then to a weaving display and opportunity to shop. I didn't.

    We passed a few other places along the way as well as all the market stalls.
    Orange blossoms are out at the moment and they're selling the blossoms or flower water. It smells beautiful.

    We get back around 5.

    Fes has never been invaded or had buildings destroyed so they claim they are one of the oldest continuous cities in the world.
    Read more