Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Big hike exploring museums and galleries

    October 4, 2023 in Romania ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Visiting museums and art galleries today.
    I want to see the outdoor Village Museum which is 6 km away so I decide to walk it, I have all day.
    On the way up I pop into an art and object gallery, it was an old palace I think. Every room is guarded or guided by a person, volunteer probably. They take their Jon very seriously, they firmly pointed the way through the many rooms which is great, you don't get lost but ai felt I had to complete the circuit before they would let me out!! These generation of people grew up under communism and I felt it!

    I also wanted to go to the Peasant Museum, as they call it. It's one man's attempt back in the 30's to preserve the old things. I think it's now state controlled. It is being renovated. The rooms are all done but the exhibits haven't been put back up due to lack of staff and funds...just like everywhere else in the museum sector. So there wasn't as much to see as reviews stated but still enough.
    Google maps takes me through parks that have statues and monuments.
    I have a nice lunch on the way.
    Just before the village museum is the Arch of Triumph.
    Walk around the villages and old houses, mills, wine crushers, etc.
    Then straight back home with a slight detour when I got lost.

    Strava app told me I did 25 K and my feet feel like it!
    Read more