Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Up to Cluj-napoca, Transylvania

    October 5, 2023 in Romania ⋅ 🌙 9 °C

    Early morning flight with local airline Tarom to Cluj-napoca, the capital of Transylvania.
    Basically the same flight as Steve the other morning but to a different city.
    My experience was much different than Steve's. I got in with the correct car driver, and everything was calm and quiet at the airport. Maybe it was Monday Mayhem for Steve.

    I got into Hotel Transylvania (of course) very early, before 9 am even, so dropped my bags and explored Old Town and beyond, again making my feet hurt. Not good walking shoes today, the toe is even scuffed out of it!

    I can tell I'm back in Transylvania as the buildings are colourful and ornate. They have a different style.

    Walked past the usual stuff, churches. Big university. There's lots of renovating and street works here too. No such thing as OH&S though. The cafe tables, with patrons, are still right in the middle of construction works. A big backhoe working a metre away from a coffee drinker.

    Found a market with stalls- some are the usual you see anywhere but most were handmade by locals

    Had a lovely traditional soup for lunch then went back and checked in.
    My roomS are huge! It's an apartment really. Booking.com asked me if I wanted to upgrade my room for a small fee, I thought why not? Wowsers!

    You walk into a sitting room complete with full dining table and chairs, heaps of cushy armchairs, big bathroom with deep bath (yippee), then a huge bedroom, again with big armchairs, furniture and king bed. Plus a bath robe monogrammed with Hotel Transylvania.
    Read more