Satellite
Show on map
  • One month to go

    March 5, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    In one month from now we will be at the airport going through immigration and then getting on a Qantas flight heading to Los Angeles.

    At the moment I am in organisation mode. I have traveled before for a few years across many countries, but I never left a house that I own with two dogs and traveling with a partner and kids in tow. And.. We are mostly camping.

    The trip consists of traveling for 3 months. About half of the 3 months is camping from California to North Carolina. We will have a few days in hotels and cabins, a week in a rented house in North Carolina, and the rest staying at friends and family mostly on the East Coast and North East.

    We originally were going to buy a crappy SUV and hope for the best but my mom and sister Danielle agreed for me to borrow the small SUV which was once my grandparents. My best friend Ger and her friend are going to drive across the East Coast, where it currently lives with my sister, and bring it to LA where we will meet her. Ger's brother moved out to LA and this was a great way to see him.

    One month will go by fast; and these are the things I have completed and still need to do to be ready to leave.

    House sitter is booked for 3 months
    Itinerary is almost complete and booked
    Disney is all paid for
    We all have US Passports and Australian passports other than Josh who has his visa.
    Dog tags with house sitters number ordered and awaiting delivery
    Packing has started with piles on study floor
    Still need to make sure all bills come via email

    As for things I needed to organise in the US.
    Bank accounts done
    Ordered AAA membership for the car
    Insurance going through Danielle
    Need to get an ezpass
    Tent is bought
    National park pass us bought
    Inara's B-Day present is bought

    I am getting excited, as well as nervous and Josh is ready to have our adventure. I just hope everything gets done and I don't forget anything. Brandon is upset he can't do auskick as we will be away all term, and he doesn't know yet that he is going to miss his "100" days party that he has referred to a few times. Inara has no idea of course and I just hope her 4 teeth that are on the verge of coming through do it in the next 30 days.

    Thanks for following us on our trip and will post again in a month.
    Read more