Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Playa Rincón, Las Galeras pt.2

    June 19, 2022 in Dominican Republic ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    Our second day in Las Galeras started off with selfmade oat pancakes with fresh Mango, Bananas and typical Chinola. We took our car and drove towards El Cabito. I had heard that there must be a pretty nice viewpoint so I convinced the others to go there even though it was not in the direction we first wanted to go. On the way to El Cabito we stopped at some Rocks that spit out water. Then we moved to El Cabito and didnt get disappointed. At first I had a little „disput“ with a turkey, that attacked me. I dont know why but I guess he just didnt like me. I had to hide behind some plants in vases, thank got he was too dumb to figure out how to walk past the plants to get to me. The problem was solved when the owner of the Place finally came and scared the aggressive turkey away. The Restaurant was closed but we still got to see the breathtaking view. Our next stop was playa Rincón. A quintessential, postcard perfect, tropical white-sand beach. Glimmering aquamarine waves lap the shore. Huge palm trees line the sand and provide shade. At one end, a protected cove offers a consistently calm bay for swimming, and in the distance, lush green mountains rise up from the opposite shore of the bay. They say its the second prettiest beach of the Dom Rep and even the number 5 world wide. I dont know who did that rating but I agree that the beach was really nice. Although there were many many many people, especially local people, not even tourists. I swam along the shore and got out of the water where the cold river flows into the sea. It must‘ve been pretty about 40 years ago in the 80s but now there were thousands of people and tons of trash laying around. There were about 100 speakers, all playing different songs of different styles, which was way to noisy. So it wasnt really as heavenly as I had expected it to be. However the worst part was that I didnt feel well in my „white“ skin. The way people were looking at me was really uncomfortable. I walked back as fast as I could, I even ran back along the beach. It was an experience for sure but not one I‘d like to repeat. After Rincón we went to see Samaná, the city and walked to the Islands in the middle of the bay. Then we ate dinner by the sea, where I finally ate Octopus. When we got back to Las Terrenas I felt like st home. We went to Groovy Garden all together and shared some wine. Was nice to be reunited with everyone and to spent a nice evening all together.Read more