Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    „FAKE“ Santa Teresa

    July 14, 2022 in Costa Rica ⋅ 🌧 27 °C

    We had heard a lot about Santa Teresa even before getting there. Some people said it was beautiful and totally worth it, one girl in Uvita Hostel told us it was hell on earth, so we were very curious to explore this place by ourselves to make up our own mind. The roads leading to Santa T were in quite bad condition and there were huge trucks in front of us all the time that were driving super slowly and that no one was passing. Noah got VERY impatient at pne point and started getting mad at all the people who had the chance to pass the trucks but didnt do so. Well whatever, eventually we arrived in the village and the road was still a dirty muddy brownish road full of holes with way more cars, bikes and motorbikes on it than it should actually carry. The Hostel on the other hand was very nice. It was one of the Selina Hostels, the most expensive one we booked so far and it was way more luxurious than what we‘re used to, which was good because we needed to settle down at a nice and clean space for once, so we could unpack everything and do laundry (which was fully booked unfortunately) and most of all to have a hot shower that we havent had since the beginning of our travels. At 4pm we were welcomed with a „welcome drink“ they serve at Selina Hostel for newcomers. Then when we had enough energy, we started walking along the dirt road and saw some really pretty cafés at the side of the street, all decorated realy nicely, with fairylights and paintings, flowers and butterflies, whatever nice things they could use to make a place look really pretty. They were totally instagrammable, it felt a bit like an influencers parallel universe. The contrast between the muddy road with trash at both sides and some destroyed huts with even more trash in front of them, and the cute litle cafés was immense, but I focused on the nice things I saw on our way. At some point it started raining (surprise suprise) and once again, rainjacket was not in our bags. We stopped at a nice place called eat street, like the foodtruck place in the dominican republic, but since we were in Santa T, it was way prettier than what i had seen before. But it was way less authentic. You could clearly tell that each food truck belonged to the same company, all of them coordinated and tuned to serve things that matched with the rest. I would say almost too perfect. I liked the way local people in the Dom Rep just selled whatever they had cooked in their foodtrucks, independant from what the others did. Noah took Tuna tacos and I had a cocktail. When it stopped raining a bot we walked down to the beach, ehich was really beautiful, we even got to see the sunset. At night we went for dinner at the Drift Bar, where they make exquisite glutenfree food. Noah and I shared so we could try out more. Noah also tried his first Sangría!! Back at the hostel we went for a swim in our pool. The next morning I woke up and went to Yoga class. I liked it but it was a bit boring, it was a lot of meditation and I ususally prefer a faster flow and more excercise. Noah was tired so after eating breakfast (I finally made my famous banana pancakes, which Noah loves!!) he went back to bed and I walked along the beach. I found some parts where there was a lot of trash in the sand and I had to think agin about the dirty trash street. So many contrasts. Very nice beach, white sand, seashells, but plastic everywhere. After lunchtime it stopped raining and we rented bikes. Honestly, i‘ve never seen such weird bikes. It was hard to ride them especially on these streets full of holes. We drove to a beach where we stayed a bit. At one point I wanted to get off my bike but fell over, but didn‘t die, I just got a bit dirty. Afterwards we went to drink something at a place called „Art Coffee“ and Noah had Crepes. (So the baby was fed up and wasnt gonna cry). We went to the beach and again saw a beautiful sunset. We stayed for a long long time and eventually went home to bed. I stayed up and wrote a bit in my book, however, when I got back to the room, Noah was occupying the WHOLE bed. So i had to try to move him to his side, and I have to admit after his crepe this wasnt that easy. Next morning I woke up early and prepared beakfast for Noah and me. I made Porridge with Chia seeds and honey, topped with Dragonfruit and Passion Fruit and Granola. When Noah woke up we ate and went to the bike rental to return our bikes. We walked back on the beach and checked out. Our Next destination was waiting for us!Read more