Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    EXTREME adventure Monteverde

    July 18, 2022 in Costa Rica ⋅ 🌧 19 °C

    We thought the Roads up to Monteverde were much worse and deifficult to drive on than they actually turned out to be. As we were driving up the narrow but still asphalted roads we started feeling the cool and fresh air from outside and knew we had almost reached our next destination. Santa Elena is located in a forested mountainious region at 1600 meters above sea level and is biologically the most diverse place in Costa rica, due to its cloud forest that has established thanks to the cold and humid climate. When we arrived we checked in at OutBox Inn Hostel, a very modern hostel in the center of Santa Elena completely made out of wood, with an outdoor kitchen on the balcony. We walked around Santa Elena and explored the tiny center. We saw a beautiful Sunset and were joined by a dog who accompanied us back to our hostel. We cooked in our outdoor kitchen and tried to make lentil pasta with eggplant and kale, but the stove heated up veeeryy slowly. After all we did it and had dinner, although it got pretty late. The next day we were picked up after breakfast and brought to the Selvatura Park where we did a hanging bridges hike through the cloudforest. It was very nice and we even had an encounter with a cute monkey walking past us. In the afternoon a dream of mine came true: we went bunjee jumping. Apparently it‘s the highest jump in whole central america, 146 metres above the forest and 60 metres of free fall! When we got there apart from us there was one other girl, Sandra from Germany, who told us it was already her fourth bunjee jump. As we got on the platform which was like a Gondola that brought us to the middle of the canyon, I expected myself getting really nervous and excited and full of adrenalin, but actually no. I didnt feel anything except for happiness to try something new. When they asked who wanted to jump first and the others ones didnt say amything I just went. They attached my feet to this long blue rope and brought me to the edge of the platform. They did a doublecheck, I asked again if I could really just jump, looked forward and jumped. Only the seco d I jumped off I felt the adrenaling rushing through my veins, a feeling which while I was falling was replaced by doubt if it would actually hold me, especially as the forest was coming closer and closer. However already a couple of seconds later on I felt something lifting me up from my feet and pulling me upwards and I knew for sure I was safe. I rebounced a couple of times which was awesome because It felt like flying until they gave me the second rope where I could attach myself in order for them to pull me up. Noah was next and aswell did it quite easily. Sandra took about a minute because she was pannicking in the beginning. After bunjee we went to a coffee place, read our books for a bit and relaxed from all the excitment. Subsequently we rented a motorbike and drove around the coty and nearby hills we both drove it by turns and I have to admit than other than the car, I might even be a better motodriver than Noah. I guess the streets of The dominican Las Terrenas have taught me a lot. We saw the sunset while we were driwing which was beautiful. Sooner or later we returned the bike and cooked Quinoa- Lentil Curry with PakChoi, Kale, Potato, Tomatos and Zucchini, while drinking cocktails from a bar close by. I really hope Noah doesnt die from my healthy food, I think he already has a massive deficiency and lack of bread and carbs im his system.. or at least that‘s what he sais;)
    We went to bed, where I cuddles with persephone, the sloth, our newest family member!🦥
    Read more