Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Day 1 & Arrival in freezing Milano

    April 7, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    Friday morning, 05:00, the alarm rang, I woke up and for once I was actually excited to get out of bed. Our journey to Italy was about to start and I couldnt wait. Im still surprised by how we got onto the train at Zurich main station, closed our eyes and opened them up to see the city of Milano in front of us. I hadn‘t had coffee that morning so by the time we stepped out of the Milano Centrale Central station I was starving. We went to the ostello bello to leave our baggage and walked to the city center. On our way I finally got my coffee at the official illy store - you can tell I was happy:) On our walk Kai held his first siesta and we grabbed a glutenfree Gipfeli (my first in almost a year!!!) We visited the Duomo and bought tickets for the following day. We weren‘t sure what we bought exactly but we figured it out eventually;). We went to the „quartiere di Brera“ and walked around until we found a shop where Kai spotted a Gould painting and ran right in. We ended up talking to the shopowner, a very nice old italian lady who showed Kai her whole Gould collection. Im sure she would have adopted him if she could. We went for lunch where Kai had pizza Diavola and I had polipo su un insalatina di patate tiepida - yummm.
    After lunch we went to the Castello Sforzesco. I dont know if thats just me but I always thought Italy was always warm and sunny. Well I was wrong. It started getting quite cold and we were happy to go into the museum of the castel. After we walkted through the endless corridors and got out we realized we had missed Leonardo Da Vinci‘s famous fresco. So i told Kai to ask somebody about it in italian.. Unfortunately Kai didnt remember how the hall where the fresco was located was called, and he asked for the wood-hall, whoch was definitely wrong. The poor man was super confused but in the end we found the place and even bumped into Michelangelo‘s Pietá;) What a coincidence! We walked back all the way to the hostel and „froze our asses off“ (excuse my english;))
    Before we went for dinner to an italian restaurant close to the hostel we drank (alcoholfree) gin tonics on our rooftop, which unfortunately weren‘t close as good as real ones.. but hey at least we tried.
    After having walked 27’000 steps we went to sleep quite early in order to be in shape for the following day!
    Good night:)
    Read more