Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Backyard Backpack Throwdown

    May 28, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Tested Deuter vs. Osprey fit with a short neighborhood walk carrying 10 pounds. . A lot to like about both, but Deuter wins hands down for my longish, 18-inch torso. I’d read a lot about how important torso length was, but nothing brings it home like a backpack that does a little cha-cha as you walk. Right hip up/backpack up. Left hip up/backpack up. Repeat x every step. The Osprey also rubbed against my shoulder blades and scapula (I had to look that up.) with each step. No bueno.

    I tried both of these and four others in the store with weight. It wasn’t until I tried them at home on a 20-minute walk that I really figured out which I liked, and got a few other insights too. The biggest ah-ha was realizing that no side pocket water bottle is going to be convenient. I’m going with a bladder and a bottle so I always have water, and always have options.

    Both have
    - fairly easy access
    - nice padded straps with wider pulls
    - all the basic bells and whistles

    Deuter wins with
    - a snug, comfy fit on my taller frame
    - better main compartment access
    - internal water bladder storage
    - thumb hooks on the shoulder straps (who woulda thought these would be so cool.?)

    Osprey didn’t work for me, but wins with
    - Two side water bottle pockets (left handed hikers rejoice)
    - Easy to find, sturdy zipper pulls
    - Super cool feel on the back, like there’s some magic substance in there.

    To paraphrase BoPeep from Toy Story, ‘Look at it. It’s got mor gadgets on it than a Swiss Army knife.’ There are loops and pockets and bits and bobs on both these rigs that require further research.
    Read more