Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 59

    New travelbuddies for the desert

    March 14, 2020 in Chile ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    After being in Valparaiso for a whole week, I am gonna continue my Journey up north.
    I met my friends Jaron and Nadin in the airport in Santiago very early in the morning today. I know these two from Los Ángeles, where I worked on a horse ranch. Nadin and Jaron are doing a volunteering project for one year over there and we decided to meet up again, so here we are, on our way to the north of Chile!

    The flight from Santiago was only about two hours long and as soon as we left the airport we were surrounded by such a different nature! I’ve never been in a desert, but it is so different. A lot of people in Santiago have been telling me that the north is ugly. But to be honest, I really enjoy it here! Yes, it is super dry, but the sun is shining all day long, it is not too hot and the houses they’ve built with the white walls and the lovely differently coloured stony floors look so lovely.

    In the evening we started a little walk to a river close by. It was quite muddy but we kept on going up to an open spot where we were watching the sunset and after the sun had gone down the stars appeared magnificently above us. We were listening to some beautiful and calm music, so there was such a nice atmosphere. I really enjoyed it. We have even been able to get some shots of the stars with a phone camera. So you can’t imagine what it looked like in real life, it was insane!
    Read more