Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 87

    Golden Triangle (Opium) and Myanmar

    November 24, 2022 in Thailand ⋅ ☁️ 28 °C

    Although Daniel and myself wanted to make a trip together, he stayed at home because of he felt sick. So I decided to make my tour to the golden triangle alone with the scooter.

    The golden triangle is known for its opium Plantages in the past. They grow opium (primary for Morphium and heroine) in Laos, thailand and Myanmar. (Other big regions are Mexiko, Columbia and Pakistan now)

    So I was able to see at one spot after 1 1/2 h of driving the borders of Laos, Thailand and Myanmar, which are separated trough 2 crossing rivers.

    After that I went to a opium museum, which was very interesting! (Growing and harvesting process, how they traded in the past and smoking pipes)

    After that I had some time left and I decided to go to a spot, where I can cross the border to Myanmar.

    So I was in Myanmar🤪(for 15 minutes).

    In the evening I ate a traditional hot pot with chicken, shrimps and beef with Daniel. So good…

    Tomorrow we want to cross the border to Laos, sleep one night there and drive on the Mekong river to Luang Prabang.

    A new country is coming!!
    Read more