Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 39

    6. Day of the Trip: Salinas Grandes+Hike

    February 10, 2023 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 7 °C

    We woke up at 4:00 to drive to a salt flat (Salinas Grandes) so the sunrise there. We took Helena from Germany with us & I drove in the morning. The drive was good & I am also the person who drives the most in the last at home, so I would say I had the most driving experience.

    We arrived at 6:30 and we saw the sunrise & I also tasted some salt. Because it was raining in the night, everything was reflecting on the salt flat. In general the salt flat is more dry & below this salt flat is Lithium. (3400m)

    It was also amazing to see, how the building were made: out of salt plates. Also a lama and a pot were there out of salt. It was impressive how strong this „buildings“ were.

    After that we went to Purmamarca, where the seven colours mountains are & we had breakfast at 9:00 there.

    I went after that with Helena on a hike around 4h in this region & it was an motivated hike, because we were hiking up higher, after we saw a nicer VIEWPOINT. We also climbed there. The view was amazing and much better as on the seven colours mountain I would say.

    I showed her also a cuttend cactus hehe & we saw a climate station there. I really enjoyed the Adrenalin hike with her.

    After we went down, we catched some cold drinks, went to a park & drove back to the hostel with the bus. I decided to go a detour & join the girls to the uyuni tour and after that to the Atacama dessert (my plan was is to do it in another way around).

    Now I will go tomorrow to the border and sleep there, but there is no hostel available anymore😂 we will see how it goes hahaha.

    In summary I have seen everything what I wanted during the road trip and I enjoyed the time very very much. Also it was a little bit more chilled travelling with the girls, because I want to be sometimes to active.
    Read more