Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Farewell to Blighty!

    June 10, 2017 in Germany ⋅ 🌙 19 °C

    First panic of the trip! As the Caledonian Sleeper pulled out of Glasgow Central at 23.40 on Friday 9 June, I realised I had forgotten to pack my iPad!! How was I going to live for over 3 weeks without it? So much for all my downloaded travel reading, I thought. The Sleeper was comfy however and, apart from a few 'shoogles' during the night, I slept reasonably well. The train arrived early into Euston - 06.15 - and I was awoken by a nice cup of coffee and shortbread. I purchased a £5 voucher which allowed me a refreshing shower in the main station and access (I believe) to the First Class lounge where I enjoyed free wifi and snacks.

    I decided that as I had had my iPad for some years, I should treat myself to a new one rather than do without. I had discovered there was a small John Lewis store in St Pancras station so I walked along there. It was a beautiful sunny morning in London and the city was strangely quiet. Although the shop sold iPads, they could not set them up. I decided to take the tube in Oxford Circus, arriving there just before 9am. I was surprised that the Apple Store did not open until 10am, and John Lewis until 9.30. I waited for JL to open and spent the quickest £400 in my life on a new iPad. The salesman was very helpful and got me all set up. Back on the tube I was just in time to catch the 10.58 Eurostar to Brussels. I had forgotten I had booked Standard Premier class and had a lovely single seat, and a complimentary light late breakfast.

    It always amazes me that you shoot into a tunnel, and 20 minutes later you emerge in another country. An easy change of train in Brussels took me next on the Deutsche Bahn ICE express train to Cologne, where I couldn't resist a Bratwurst sausage with mustard from a busy stall in the station. I had a great view of the Gothic Cathedral I recall climbing with mum and dad on a previous trip to Germany.

    A further change of train took me all the way from Cologne to Berlin, another 4.5 hours, arriving there at 21.22 - bang on time, as you would expect. A glass of Sauvignon Blanc helped to ease me into the journey, and a tasty supper of chilli con carne served at my 1st class seat was most welcome.

    I had booked my first hotel night at the Meiningen Hotel, right next door to Berlin's main station. A small room, but clean and comfortable, and certainly very handy. We'll see what tomorrow brings! Guten nacht!
    Read more