Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Beautiful Bernina Express

    June 6, 2018 in Italy ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    Up at 05.30 to catch the train from Zürich to Chur and join the UNESCO World Heritage rail journey on the famed Bernina Express. Boarded my (1st class) observation carriage to enjoy a 4.5 hour journey in the Alps. And what a perfect day for this thrilling, breathtaking trip. Lush meadows and aquamarine rivers gave way to snow-clad mountains punctuated with tunnels, bridges, viaducts and waterfalls - absolutely gorgeous! I wondered if Switzerland would really be like those chocolate box pictures of yesteryear - and it didn’t disappoint. Beautiful alpine flowers and camel-coloured cows with large cow bells looking like the wrapping from the Milka chocolate bars from Lidl. All that was missing was Shirley Temple as Heidi playing with her kid goats.

    After stuffing his face immediately on departure with a variety of foodstuffs, the rotund Japanese man across from me promptly fell asleep on top of his long suffering wife, then after an hour suddenly woke up to exclaim to me ‘isn’t it beautiful scenery?’ - as if he would know.

    I eventually gave up trying to take photos - there were so many spectacular views. The pristine train with its gleaming observation carriages and friendly staff only added to the occasion. An absolute highlight of my trip - and it’s only day 3.

    All too soon we arrived at the Bernina Express destination - Tirano - just across the border into Italy. A pretty little tourist town. After the obligatory gelato, I moved next door to the main line station and caught the train on my 2.5 hour trip to Milan. This was a pleasant journey which made its way down the Eastern shore of Lake Como, where Campbell and I had enjoyed a holiday last year. I even caught a view of the wonderful Bellagio - but alas no sign of Mr Clooney!

    The 1930s monumental terminus of Milan Central Station is one of my favourite railway stations. Mussolini wanted the station to represent the power of the Fascist regime - and boy, did he succeed! What a grand place to end a trip on surely one of the great railway journeys of the world.
    Read more