Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    And we’re off!

    August 3, 2020 in Scotland ⋅ ☀️ 15 °C

    After almost five months in lockdown, I was beginning to really miss my trips abroad and developed a bad case of the travelling bug 🐜 . Our planned trips to Gdańsk and Porto were cancelled, but with France still being on the list of countries from which you didn’t have to quarantine on return (at the moment), I decided to take the plunge. At £20 each way, a trip to Bordeaux with easyJet seemed too good to miss, and with a few clicks the deed was done!

    I’d never seen Glasgow Airport so quiet - quite eerie in fact. Security was empty and I sailed through quickly. I had time for a meal in one of the few open eating places, and was pleased to discover I got 50% off my pizza and Irn Bru meal due to the Chancellor’s Eat Out To Help Out scheme which began today . So far so good.

    Arrived in Bordeaux in good time (1 hour 45 minutes flight). Took the local bus No. 1 to Gare St Jean where I was staying at the Ibis Styles Hotel. Although there were no problems travelling, it felt strange seeing everyone going about in masks. Look forward to exploring tomorrow.
    Read more