Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Travelling North

    July 2, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    The train was very comfortable and came with free WIFI! I know, I know we should be looking out of the window and we did but even the trains in the UK don't have free WIFI!

    The journey took us through New Haven, New London and Providence and had a decent coastal stretch. We saw numerous beautiful coastal and riverside mansions straight out of a Nicholas Sparks movie as well as boats, seals and birdlife. I only wish we'd been going a little slower! Before reaching Massachusetts, we crossed two other state lines so travelled through Connecticut and Rhode Island. Back when we were planning our itinerary I wrote a list of the number of states we would hit on our journey. On one of our longer journeys, I'll list it out for you. It's long but mildly disappointing!

    We arrived on time and grabbed a cab to our Air BnB. I was mildly put out that we were expected to tip the when in fact I had acted as navigator with Google maps! Regardless, we arrived in East Boston safely and were greeted by our new Air BnB hosts. Our new pad is lovely and the hosts lovelier still. Nothing is too much trouble for them. When I left the room, I returned to find a cool bag hung on the door containing our breakfast - yoghurts, muffins, cherries and cashew nuts. Such a lovely touch. We're looking forward to meeting our fellow guest - Petunia the cat!

    Now it's ZZZ time. The jet lag has been pretty mild but I'm looking at my dual clock and it says it's 04:45 back home! Goodnight x
    Read more