Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Crossing the Border

    August 1, 2017 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    The day began with my eagerly anticipated seaplane flight with Kenmore Air. It was a 30 minute tour over the city in a DeHavilland Turbo Otter and me being me naturally I snagged the best seat. The flight was worth every cent and I'm so glad I decided to take in the city this way. Oddly enough there was even another 'Beard' on the plane from Missouri - a long lost relative? The staff at the terminal were very accommodating and let me keep my luggage there whilst I sat in the adjacent park made calls home and generally watched the world go by on Lake Union.

    Eventually I grabbed an Uber to Pier 69 to catch my clipper to Victoria. This would be farewell to the US for the best part of two weeks. I met a lovely mother and young son, Chrissy and Noah, who kept me company and were kind enough to save me a good seat on a window table with them as they had priority boarding. Chrissy pretended I was the nanny. Despite the lovely company, the steady motion of the ferry quickly sent me to sleep and I napped for nearly two hours.

    On arrival into Victoria (Vancouver Island), I instantaneously loaded my uber app to find that there were no Ubers here. What on earth would I do now?! Obviously I got a cab and arrived at the hostel just in time to snag the last bowl of free dinner. I sat in the hostel lounge and spent a good few hours sifting through my Orca photos. There was no doubt about it. I had to see more whales.
    Read more