Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Don't just fly, SOAR

    August 8, 2017 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    Following a very restful night's sleep and a surprisingly successful packing mission, Petunia (the pink suitcase) and I took our first Canadian uber to the airport. It was such a relief to see those little fly like cars moving about on the uber app again. I had missed my ubers! So quick, efficient, stress-free with no need to worry about cash or tipping (you do it all through the app).

    Putting Petunia on the scales I shut my eyes. I was sure she'd gained a few pounds since leaving the UK but us girls didn't like to talk about such things. When I opened them, she was on her way up the ramp. Atta girl Petunia.

    I breezed through security after being redirected to the 'trusted passengers' line. I swear it's the hat. I get through customs just as swiftly whereas Kate conversely gets interrogated about her intentions. Note to self - everyone trusts a girl with a straw hat with a polka dot ribbon.

    I was amused by the airport attendants at Calgary who all wore matching red and white waistcoats and stetsons. Sadly I was unable to get a picture but I downloaded one from Google images to share with you. Bless 'em. I believe they're all volunteers too.

    On boarding my 767 I was delighted to find we had in-flight entertainment. You can blame Air Canada for me being so far behind with my blog! Instead of catching more penguins I watched British film 'Their Finest' and indulged in some Tom Hiddleston by partly watching 3/4s of the latest Kong film whilst editing photos. I had meant to catch the former at the cinema a couple of months ago but was probably too busy flying or playing cafe! As I'd predicted it was an all over Joey film. It was set in WWII Blitz and follows a young female writer who is employed by the war office to write 'the slop' for some uplifting propaganda films. It had good period sets and costumes, strong female lead, romance and was about heartwarming filmmaking - what more could a Joey want in a film? As for Tom. Well he needs no review.

    On arrival at Toronto airport it suddenly struck me that I hadn't seen Monica in 17 years nor had I seen a picture. I was comforted by the fact I knew she was reading my blog and therefore must know what I looked like these days! I just realised I've jumped ahead for some people. I was about to reunite with Dad's cousin Monica (my 2nd cousin) who I met briefly on our visit to Toronto in 2000 but whom I had been exchanging emails with ever since I was a teenager. Whilst a similar age to Dad, Monica has such a young spirit and we have always spoken so openly to each other about everything. I'm pretty sure I used to confide in her all my teenage heartache as if she was one of my school friends. I like to think that the 'young at heart' gene runs in the family. I certainly think both Dad, Uncle Peter and my Great Aunty Ann have it. Anyway, it had been an ambition of mine for over a decade to one day get to visit Monica again and spend some proper time together. This was it. At last.

    As Petunia and I came out of the arrivals door an older lady was weaving to and fro in front of the waiting crowd of friends and family. I watched her and thought she bared some resemblance to Monica's mother Daphne but I wasn't convinced. This lady didn't have the same twinkle in her eye or beauty. Thankfully between this lady's weaving I spotted Monica in the back and recognised her instantly. When we'd been arranging my visit I'd assured Monica I could find my way to theirs by myself but she very kindly insisted on meeting me at the airport. After a number of buses and subway rides I was glad she did. I was feeling quite tired from both the coach and plane journeys and trying to decipher a new city's public transport system would probably have been beyond me. We did have a giggle when we nearly lost Petunia down the length of a subway carriage as I accidentally let go. Boy can she travel - sorry Petunia but some of that is down to your mass!

    We eventually arrived at the Kanellis family home in leafy Toronto suburbia. Despite only spending a few hours there in 2000 it was bizarrely familiar. I do wonder how or why my brain stores such memories of houses visited etc. I fear it takes up space that could probably be better utilised!

    I received a very warm welcome from the rest of family including a small meow from the family cat who it transpires has many names - two of them being Kitty Kanellis or Gata Sin Ombre (Greek for Cat with no name). I personally adopted the my own variation of KanelliCat.

    Monica and Steve were very keen to see more of my pictures from the adventure so far and so set up a screen on the patio and we had an impromptu slideshow following a lovely homemade stew. There was something very wonderful about being with family after such a long time away and I instantly felt at home.
    Read more