Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Retail Therapy

    August 14, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    I had set aside my last full day in the city for SHOPPING. Frivolous after the last 7 weeks I know but I figured having come this far - why the hell not?

    I started my day with a long awaited breakfast at Denny's. The diner franchise had been a popular favourite of Mum and Dad's in the 80s and they had taken me there in the 90s so it was nice to finally cross it off the list. Their pancakes were easily the best I'd had.

    After breakfast I ventured into Chinatown to find Mum her coveted Louis Vuitton fake but much to my dismay the fake handbag industry in Chinatown has either disappeared or gone seriously underground. No fake handbags to be seen anywhere. This was a huge disappointment!

    Next stop was Fifth avenue for the Lego Store and Saks followed by a return to Times Square for the big Disney Store. Whilst sitting for a quick breather by the Rockefeller Centre I was approached by an old man who insisted on taking my picture. I tried to resist but he was insistent. He took my phone and took multiple snaps and then returned the phone to me, shook my hand amd walked away. One of his results is below and needless to say I was really chuffed with his results and further encouraged by the kindess of strangers on my travels.

    My final stop was, of course, Target where I procured Douglas the Duffel along with many chocolate hugs and kisses. It has to be said that I knew Petunia woild not be impressed with Douglas but he was cheap, he was functional and quite frankly she could do worse!

    After a long day on my feet, I had a lovely chilled evening in my Air BnB slowly packing and eating Jack Daniels Honey Pulled Pork and Chocolate Chip Eggos!
    Read more