Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    My Grandparent's Summer Home

    April 20, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 63 °F

    Today I had a great chiro adjustment and a massage. My neck never adjusts, but today the chiropractor did what she called the "traction method". She took a rolled up terrycloth type towel and placed it behind my neck. Then she wrapped each end around my throat to the opposite side and back toward her past my mandible as she was sitting behind me. She said, "ok, keep your teeth together so you don't bite your tongue." Then she pulled up on my neck toward her and it adjusted. My massage by Michael was the deepest massage I've ever had, and really worked out some kinks.

    Tonight I'm staying in the campground where my grandparents lived 6 months out of the year, May 1 to Nov 1. Growing up, we came here every summer for vacation. Back then it was called Fort Tatham Campground after the Fort Tatham Creek. Now it is called Sun Retreats Nantahalla. It's not changed that much in all these years. I am very happy to see how well it's been maintained. The Fort that we played in is long gone, and there's a pavilion now over the shuffleboard court. Some of the cabins have painted the wood siding instead of the traditional red paint-stained look. Some of the cabins have metal roofs now.

    My grandparents cabin was number 16 right in the corner of the property on the creek. Like literally the camper is ON the creek, almost hanging over the creek. The creek is a small but rapid flowing stream that bubbles gently over the rocks. One can hear and see the creek sitting on the porch and all night long inside the cabin. Every summer we would get a big, long watermelon and wedge it between the rocks in the creek to chill it. The water was so cold. There are so many memories here, but besides nostalgia, I'm just happy to see this place thriving and so well cared for. When I arrived today, the office was already closed so I couldn't check in. I was sure that I had made a reservation for 2 nights, but I never received a confirmation email and I don’t see any charges on my credit card statement. So I'm thinking I never made the reservation. Tomorrow when I go into the office to let them know that I've been squatting on their property all night, I'm going to inquire to see if my relatives still own cabin 16. Cabin 16 is one of the few cabins here that hasn't been updated. It really looks the same as it always did. My cabin I mean a little trailer built inside of a roof overhead, deck and porch.

    The weather warmed up so beautifully today. Once I arrived at the campsite, I walked around quite a bit... both exercise and a walk down memory lane. Then I set up camp, had dinner and took a really nice, hot shower.

    Another set back today: pulled out the grill, a brand new table top grill. to grill the chicken. The screws to attach the legs to the grill are missing, so I couldn't grill. Tomorrow I'll see if I can get replacement screws or find out the size and length of the screw. I guess there is always something with camping, but especially with new campers and new equipment. I'm still in disbelief that I have no way to prevent my van from going into lithium battery collapse without manually turning the ignition on.

    Today was a day of release. Release of stress. Release of burdens.
    Read more