Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Plans Change

    May 31, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 50 °F

    My heart is broken after getting devastating news this morning. My brother called me at 10:30 pacific time as I was getting my coffee to tell me that our sister Donna and her husband Bart were in a car accident and Bart was instantly killed. My sister did CPR on him to no avail. Everyone is still in shock.

    They were simply rear ended at a construction road stop on 33 north of Lakeland. How? Why? No! It can't be so.

    My sister was taken to the hospital and John our brother spent the day with her. She is physically in pain and limping but no major injuries. She was released home this evening.

    I've not left the house today except for 30 minutes in the hottub and grilling my dinner on the deck. I worked some, caught up on email, did laundry, re packed, and changed my flight and car rental reservations.

    Tomorrow I'll be heading to Yosemite for one day (instead of 3), staying in Groveland tomorrow night and flying home early on Thursday. I need to be with my family.

    I don't know what to say except life is precious. Everyday is a gift. Bart Bryant was a PGA Golfer with 11 professional wins. Most importantly, he was one of the kindest and most genuine persons I've ever met... an amazing man. If you follow golf, look for mention and memorial of Bart and his career in the upcoming tournament. We will miss you, Bart.

    Tomorrow is another day. We'll wake up in the morning and the reality will again hit us smack in the face. But I will say, "Thank You for this day. "

    I plan to get up at 3 am to get to Yosemite early.
    Read more