Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Yosemite National Park

    June 1, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 77 °F

    The best word to describe Yosemite National Park is "Majestic." It is truly one of kind, take your breath away gorgeous. The sheer size and volume of the rock formations invoke awe and wonder.

    The Visitor Center on the east side of the park was closed (if there is one, it's dubious), and the line for the bathrooms was very long because a tour bus had just pulled up. So I skipped the potty, but found gasoline. I was at least partially relieved, since the red light for the gas tank had already come on.

    I drove through the park, stopping at every Vista to take photos. The main visitor center is about 1.5 hour drive from the east entrance down in Yosemite Valley.

    I made my way to the Visitor Center and found a parking spot. Then I walked more than half a mile to the museum, store, and visitor center... and the bathroom. Some of the shops close for one hour from 12 to 1 for lunch, true government style. But I found the gift shop open and bought a magnet, 2 Tshirts, a hat and a black bear mug for my granddaughter, Addy.

    I had warmed my leftovers in the windshield, so when I returned to the car I grabbed my hammock and the food and had lunch hammocking in the Yosemite trees. I have more food than I know what to do with, since I wasn't planning to go home until the 6th. I'm leaving expensive organic peanut butter and previously purchased frozen foods behind at Airbnbs.

    Yosemite is about the rock formations and waterfalls. You'll see pictures of several including Half Dome and El Capitan. It was beautiful and I took my time driving through. I only walked about 2 miles though, which was mostly just to the visitor center... but I wasn't feeling very adventurous today. A little more somber... and it was 82 degrees!

    The videos are from outside the park... story continues.
    Read more