Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    My Baby is Having a Baby

    September 3, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 82 °F

    Moriah and Eddie bought their first home last week in Knoxville, Tennessee. We arrived just minutes after 4 pm. I introduced Doug to my daughter Moriah and her husband Eddie. They invited us in and we grabbed the gifts we'd come bearing including a hand-painted port, sangria glass and pitcher set, a bag of bourbon toffee, and a baby onesie from the National Park. "This is our first clothes for the baby!" they said. It's great to see my youngest daughter and her husband. She's five months along in her first pregnancy, and has a cute little baby bump.

    They have been busy with painting as evidenced by the blue tape on the trim, rollers, pans and brushes galore. The furniture is pulled to the center of the room. They have primed the whole house and are painting "Fast as the Wind" a cool gray with a bluish tint. One wall is painted.

    Moriah gave us the official tour of their new home. It's beautiful and perfect for them, and I couldn't be prouder. "This is the nursery," Moriah said. All the bedrooms are very large. In the center of the room sits a brand new swivel rocker-glider chair that also reclines. I take a seat to try it out.... very comfortable. I think I want one for the condo.

    We were planning to go out to dinner later, but first Doug and I were looking forward to taking the first shower of the trip. We cleaned up, had a drink in the kitchen and headed out to the kid's favorite Mexican restaurant, Soccer Taco. The music was fun, the margaritas great, and the food delicious. We mused over possible baby names. Eddie is Wallace Edward Weakley III, but they have already announced to the family that they will not be following suit and naming their baby the fourth. One, Two and Three are all currently living and, well, there just are not any more names to go by. The alcohol is kicking in and we're getting silly. "How about Daily Monthly Weakley IV?", Doug suggests.

    "He's moving!" I move closer and place my hand on her belly to get a chance to feel my grandson kick. But not tonight. Baby will not dance for Pepper tonight.
    Read more