Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Mesa Verde National Park

    September 29, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 72 °F

    Last night was a rough night with little sleep. The battery on the camper went dead which meant the refrigerator and freezer wasn't on. I'm not really sure why this happened because i haven't used much of anything except a few lights. I was awake at 3 am in the Walmart parking lot and drove around looking for a place to plug in. I finally found a place to plug in for a minute to restart the inverter, then went back to the Walmart parking lot only to be awakened by the high school matching band practicing in the parking lot at 7:30 am. By that time I discovered that the battery was dead again even though I had kept the van running for 2 hours. I found a local RV campground and made a reservation for tonight. They allowed me to go in early this morning to charge. While the van charged, I slept another couple of hours.

    This afternoon I finally got back to Mesa Verde National Park. There is about an hour drive in to the cliff dwellings. At the vista points, I could see for miles and miles, from the Navajo lands, Four Corners, the fertile inhabited valley, the Mesa and the Rocky Mountains in the distance.

    I stopped at the gift shop near Far View and bought a sticker. There are markers asking the road remembering fires of the past. Most were healed but the fire from 2002 still has charted trees standing. At the top of one of the Mesa points is a fire lookout office where
    Difference between national park and monument
    Museum closed remodeling
    Spruce tree house 3rd largest, most preserve d 1200s
    Xliff palace. 700 years moved south
    Read more