Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Lower Colorado

    September 30, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 48 °F

    This morning I drove from Cortez, Colorado 160 east through Durango and Pagoda Springs. The drive was beautiful. My favorite was just east of Pagoda Springs and then heading up into the mountains in Mineral County and the Rio Grande National Forest.

    I saw my first autumn leaves today. I was really hoping I'd get to see the Aspens turning yellow, and I did. It did not disappoint. Across the mountains the Aspens glow golden. When the wind rustles the leaves, they quiver and shake, picking up the reflection of the sun and producing a flashing glimmer.

    I haven't had wifi since the 23rd when I left the Waldorf Astoria. Cell signal has been weak and hit or miss as well. Twice I've been at campgrounds that had wifi supposedly but it didn't work. I've had no news or connection with the outside world except the friends and family I've spoken to. Today, I'm hearing about the mass devastation of Fort Meyers area and Sanibel Island. It's just so heartbreaking to think about. My family has had power outages and some property damage... siding, roofing, pool enclosures, soffits... nothing major. My condo building on the beach has no damage and only lost power for two hours. We were spared.
    Read more