Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    The Road Home

    October 2, 2022 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 72 °F

    I drove another 600 miles today.

    Each state has it's unique beauty. Because states are often separated by rivers, the terrain is often somewhat different. There were the cotton fields of Louisiana in full bloom. It felt good to cross the Mississippi River, and know that the radio stations have switched from K's to W's. Yes, when I don't have phone signal, I listen to the radio. The forests and pine trees of Mississippi go on forever. I was driving mostly back roads today making my way from I-20 to I-10. Every mile marked remnants of deer road kill. I was glad it was daytime. It reminded me of my late night drive into Oxford, Mississippi one January, driving my daughter toward Ole Miss for graduate school... in the Tesla. We were both perched forward like hawks looking for deer. That was a fun 18 hour trip, stopping to charge the Tesla every 3 to 4 hours. Driving alone brings back so many memories... memories of my parents, past vacations, talking on the CB using our handles, living in Scroggins, Texas. I had lobster for the first time in Longview, Texas. I was 14. There's a lot of time to think.

    Alabama felt more like home with plentiful oak trees. My mother was born in Mobile on blackout night in December, 1942, during World War II. Speaking of giving birth in the dark, I found out tonight that the birth center still doesn't have power since the hurricane. There's an electrical pole down, split into three pieces. There have been no babies, thankfully. One of our patients evacuated to Tallahassee and the Birth Center of Tallahassee saw her. Thank you, Layla!

    The cheapest fuel I've found was $2.65 a gallon... in Louisiana.

    I also saw a couple of hang gliders today in transit. They are stored in a large metal case that looks like the tail of an airplane or an upside down boat. I didn't know what it was at first but this morning in line at Starbucks, there was one in front of me with a hang glider sticker on the back. The man with the hang glider paid for my coffee, so I paid it forward to the person behind me. I told nobody about this.

    Mexican food sounded so good, so Doug (over the phone) kindly found El Paso Mexican Grill in Milton, Florida, not too far from my campground in Holt. I headed that way and enjoyed a skinny margarita and chicken flautas. I realized today how isolated I've been. Its been days since I've had human interaction besides on the phone. Not that i was chatting it up with anyone, but the waitress was very sweet. I was sitting at the bar watching news for the first time in over a month. On one of the four TVs above, the Packers and Patriots were playing. I was texting Doug while eating and reading the news on the screen.  Close to the end of my meal, the waitress returned, "So I just wanted to let you know, your tab has been paid for by the man on the phone." Dougie, you are adorable.

    I'm looking forward to being home tomorrow. Payroll is done (for the 3rd time this trip) and emails reviewed. I'm ready to reenter society. My bathroom is not completed, however. Oh, and mercury is no longer in retrograde.
    Read more