Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 33

    Home Sweet Home

    October 3, 2022 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 79 °F

    Driving back home today through Florida was inspirational. My journey has shown me that there are many good-hearted people throughout our country. From the Park Ranger who was willing to give me a place to stay and cash to get home when I misplaced my wallet, to the stranger in front of me in the Starbucks line who paid for my coffee, to the travelers I met randomly on the trails who united with me in our pilgrimage and shared her-stories, if only briefly.

    Today, Driving I-10 through the panhandle, I saw myriads of vehicles, from all the southern states all the way to Texas and Tennessee, loaded down with supplies for Florida hurricane relief. Some were commercial or government contracted, but many were small businesses and even individuals who had a tractor and trailer and thought, "I'm going to load this up with cases of bottled water and take it to Florida." On I-75 southbound, I saw convoys of electric utility trucks from other states, tree trimming trucks with large lifts, trucks loaded with generators, large Cat generators, a church from Tennessee loaded with supplies, restoration service companies, trucks with large construction and rescue cranes, emergency fuel service tankers, and trailers loaded with Handi Houses temporary housing. It was touching to see the outpouring of generosity to help others in need.

    I could see some evidence of damage as I drove into Tampa. Most of it has been cleaned up. There are piles of tree debri in front of every home, for sure. The giant cross at the church on I-75 in Tampa broke in half. 

    Doug took his generator to the birth center this morning so they could get through clinic; then finally in the early afternoon, the power returned.

    My bathroom is still not done. "By the end of the week," my contractor says. My car is at Doug's, so I will stay there a few days, unload and clean up the van, get her over to the dealer, and check on the birth center. After 4 days of straight driving, over 2,000 miles and 30 hours, I'm very happy to be "home".  My hometown area and a bathtub is very nice. Not sure if I mentioned it, but my shower was broken for the 5 weeks prior to leaving on my trip, so I've been "camping" for a long time. Returning to normal civilization feels strange. "Oh, I can throw that toilet paper in the toilet instead of the garbage can." I wonder how long it will take for that instinct to go away. The little conveniences that I often take for granted become more appreciated after camping for 33 days.

    Here is a synopsis of my journey:

    33 days

    10 showers, lol. No, I don't really know the exact number, but yeh you catch the drift.... haha

    7,306 miles

    $2105.04 spent on fuel

    17 states visited (FL, GA, NC, TN, KY, IL, MO, KS, CO, UT, AZ, NV, NM, TX, LA, MS, AL)

    8 National Parks visited (Great Smokey, Gateway Arch, Arches, Canyonlands, Zion, Grand Canyon, Mesa Verde, Great Sand Dunes)

    One chip in the windshield. The van is going for multiple inside repairs on the 6th.

    17 magnets on the van

    Thankfully, 0 accidents. 0 injuries. 0 tickets

    From 13 ft to 14,115 ft elevation and back again

    I've learned many things, including: The best things are not planned, but are stumbled upon. Taking that detour will produce delightful surprises. Nevada is pronounced Neh-vaa-duh. Country music is awesome. Living in the moment and holding its beauty is true joy. A van is not meant for two persons for more than a week. Yes, I do think camping in a van would be a great dating reality TV show. Being sick at high altitude sucks.

    I'm looking forward to many more journeys, perhaps even hitting the road full-time next year. Until the next journey, adios.
    Read more