Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    This Adventure Has Begun

    January 21, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 52 °F

    Most folks think I'm crazy for driving north to Wisconsin in January. Throughout the day, as I was loading the camper van and driving the first four hours up the road, I was thinking about how I've got to watch the weather temperature, precipitation, and road conditions; buy a long-handled windshield scraper, keep the lithium battery charged, keep the tanks and lines from freezing... This is my first winter camping trip in the van besides going to the Keys.

    I lived in the Chicago area for 14 years, so I know how to drive in inclement weather, but perhaps not in a vehicle like this.. and it's been 18 years. It will certainly be an adventure, and there will be challenges, I'm sure.

    So the plan was to go to Knoxville, Tennessee, where my daughter and son-in-law live. They are soon to have their first baby; she's currently 41 weeks pregnant. I want to be there to help her after the baby arrives. The camper van is ideal because I can park it at their house and plug it in right there in their driveway. We can still each have our own space, and although i love their lovely cat Seymour, I am unfortunately very allergic.

    My best friend's son is getting married in Wisconsin next week, just north of Chicago. I figured since I'd already be halfway there, I might as well drive up. I have a hotel for two nights, but that almost concerns me more. The van will need to be run at night to keep the battery charged and keep it warm enough that the pipes and tanks don't freeze. Most likely, I'm going to end up sleeping in the van and just using the hotel for showering and dressing. I see it's supposed to snow on Wednesday, which is the day of the wedding. It's a Hindu wedding. I've never been to a Hindu wedding, so I'm very excited to experience this. It is an all-day and night event. Actually, there are four events in one day.

    I'm also planning a four day excursion to Nashville the first weekend in February. I'm meeting a friend there, and well, we're gonna see if we can kick up our boots a little bit.

    Today, just before leaving, I met my daughter, granddaughter, sister, and brother for lunch at our local Thai restaurant. It was great to see them, especially since I'm to be gone for four weeks. My birthday is tomorrow, so they all came bearing gifts. I received an electric-heated sherpa which I have wrapped around me right now, two bottles of wine, snacks for the road including trail mix, dark chocolate covered walnuts and espresso beans; chapstick, lavender shower bombs, makeup remover wipes, nail polish, and a facial mask. It was so nice to see them.

    Tonight, I'm in Hahira, Georgia, just north of Valdosta, parked at a gas station near the truckers. I have just six more hours to Knoxville tomorrow. I really want my daughter to have this baby, but I'm hoping she'll either have the baby tonight or wait until after we have dinner tomorrow. It will all work out exactly how it's supposed to be. That I have faith in. Maybe I will share a birthday with my grandson.
    Read more