Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Onward & Forward, No Looking Back

    January 26, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 30 °F

    The snow was fun for a day. Sometime in the middle of the night, the lithium battery in the van died. This means I have no lights, microwave, outlets, Keurig... The refrigerator will continue for up to another day before it will also go out.

    I found coffee inside the hotel, showered, and checked out. They offered for me to plug the van into their electric outlet, so I did a quick plug-in to hopefully restart the battery charging, then headed south.

    The roads were clear, but today's driving was difficult because of the strong winds. It definitely required both hands glued to the wheel to keep the van on the road. I will blame the lack of pictures today on this.

    I stopped a couple of times for work and phone calls... clean the windshield, fuel up, and check the battery. Somehow, the work stops were the much needed relaxing breaks. The lights and appliances shut off again, and the battery appeared to not be charging. I plugged the laptop into the 12 volt adaptor, and it was charging. But when I tried to make coffee through the 12 volt, it killed it. I think I may have blown my 12 volt fuse?

    I made plans for the next few days... where to stay, where to wash the nasty salt grime off the van, an appointment for body work (for me, not the van), and reservations for a bourbon distillery tour.

    Last night, after I left the wedding, I met the person who ghosted me for a drink. One drink and an hour and a half of catching up on life, explaining what was going on in his head at the time, and our thoughts on relationships in general. It felt comfortable and platonic. He's very happy living the independent bachelor lifestyle. He has his routine... he works during the day and goes to see his best friend, who happens to be his bartender, most nights. "Ah, you're married to your bartender, " I said. My throat Chakra has really been opening up lately. I surprise myself that I'm able to be so candid.

    He finds himself caught between wanting an intimate and committed relationship but also wanting to have his freedom. I can admit that I've had the same thoughts; however, I don't think that the two have to be in opposition to each other. It is possible to be together with someone but still have autonomy and time that you enjoy by yourself or with friends. To me, that seems healthy.

    Regardless, it was a reminder to me to not get in a pattern that keeps me stuck in life, but rather pick a destination of where I want to end up and put that destination in my GPS. That's the only way to move forward and, in the end, get to where I want to be, hopefully happy and without regret.

    Today's destination was warmer weather. Arriving to Waddy, Kentucky, tonight at the Flying J, I find that my lithium battery is charged 100%. It feels like a Christmas miracle one month late.

    Speaking of late... no baby yet. 😰🙏
    Read more