Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Acclimating to Knoxville

    January 30, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 21 °F

    Last night, I stayed in Marysville about 25 minutes away from my daughter's place. I booked a place through my Harvest Hosts membership. The family had two hook ups on the back of their property that they "rent" out for $20 a night on a cash honor system. It was raining when I arrived and pretty much the whole time I was there, so I didn't meet them. I just dropped my cash in the box that is connected to the electrical post. I'm thinking that one day I'd like to buy a piece of property in Tennesee and start a mini campground.

    Driving around town more, I'm beginning to learn my way. I've found the grocery stores. I'm now a proud Food City savings card carrier, and I saved almost $10 on my purchase today. I bought everything that I needed to prepare chicken and yellow rice.

    Arriving to Moriah's house, I cleaned up and cooked, and checked in on them upstairs, bringing things up and down. The midwife, Abby, came today to check on mom and baby. They are doing wonderful. Breastfeeding has been brilliant today once he got rid of the gunk trying to come up out of his stomach.

    I had my Zoom call with my writing partner and am now on the 4th edition of my book article which I have shared with a few people for feedback and am getting ready to share with a broader audience. I have a Zoom call with the instructor tomorrow to get his feedback and ideas.

    It was raining half the day, but thankfully it stopped by afternoon. I did chores on the van. My hoses and cargo compartment are a complete disaster, so I ordered some things to help me organize them. I'm looking forward to getting that under control.

    The chicken and rice turned out very tasty and Moriah wants the recipe. Well, I'm a dump cook so, yeh... I'd like to tweek it a bit though. There was too much liquid so the rice was mushier than I prefer. I'll do it differently next time.
    Read more