Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Where'd all the snow go?

    February 22, 2019 in Sri Lanka ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Turkish Airlines maybe pretty fantastic but over 24 hours travelling, brief naps and a sizeable time difference means you really need the holiday when you actually arrive!

    Plus, I had some kind of hex on me which meant I almost lost my phone, all our travel documents and my purse during the journey. Luckily, my guardian angel and various strangers reunited me with all items.

    First impressions here in Kakpitiya at The Blue Whale Resort are very favourable :). All the Sri Lankans we've met have been incredibly charming, friendly and relaxed. The weather is fabulous, of course, with a constant cooling breeze and it might as well be a private beach and pool. The resort is on a coconut plantation and is full of birds, donkeys and small cows.

    Last night we had dinner at a simple place with 6 tables in the sand under a bamboo roof. Chilli prawns for Z and fresh tuna for me washed down with coconut, lime & cinnamon shakes. Delicious 😁

    Wrongly, I can't help comparisons with India, but the two countries are very different of course. There's not the visible poverty nor the same amount of depressing plastic rubbish here but neither is there the riotous use of colour or dreamy Mughal architecture.

    Whereas India just pushes itself in your face, Sri Lanka seems more gentle... We'll see. 😀
    Read more