Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Esher - Sandown, Isle of Wight - Day 25

    May 15, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    Veronica kindly dropped us off at the station in Esher, for the train trip to the Isle of Wight. Jane has pre booked the trip from Oz before we left so she goes to the auto teller and prints off the tickets. It looks like we have a few changes along the way, so I settle in for the trip. We hop on the train to Basingstoke, and I decide to look at the train map to check our trip plan. I'm looking at our end destination which is Yarmouth! This is on the Isle of Wight, but the wrong side and there is no connecting train! Oh Bugger! Next stop we try to change the tickets, but they won't, so I ring my 86 year old Aunt and let her know not to meet us at Sandown at that we will catch the Taxi from the ferry! She insists on picking us up and meets us in Yarmouth, I take over for the 45 minute trip back, fortunately the traffic on the Island is not heavy so I am eased of mind for her making the trip initially. In fact she assures us that she in fact quite enjoyed it ! Pam has a fantastic roast chicken meal on the go and we enjoy that and catch up on all the news since we last saw her in Australia 8 years ago!Read more