Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Mazatlan pt2

    May 14, 2023 in Mexico ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Mazatlan only got better with as you’d expect more beer, tequila and dancing! Saturday was wedding day with the first stop being the church. I put my suit on that I nearly left in Sydney and stopped for an impromptu photo shoot next to some colourful buildings before attending what I would call marriage counselling. Being in the church was fun but the whole ceremony was a little bit different. Anyway, next was the state ceremony which we skipped in favour of lunch before heading to the nicest wedding party ever. It was on a massive outdoor area that overlooked the whole city plus ocean and had the nicest sunset view. Initially it was a little hard to get into the Latino dancing but after a while and a few tequilas I had picked up some new dance moves and didn’t stop dancing till 2 am. I witnessed a spectacular dance between the newly weds including fireworks and Alicia keys, what’s not to love! Spent a lot of time talking with my cousins Luis Carlos and Rosalia as well as the other 300 people in attendance. Eventually it got to that time of the night where the spicy tamarind vodka got passed around which was surprisingly very good, to the extent that even John was having multiple turns of people pouring it into his mouth. The mariachi band arrived at 1 am where the bride, Julissa sang a Mexican classic that I didn’t know. The night ended with more dancing and a sick feeling in my stomach probably from all the cubas/rum and cokes I drank. The festivities continued the next day at this seaside hotel event space for the post boda/wedding party. Unlimited ice cream, carnitas/pork tacos, drinks and gorgeous views were provided as I was able to spend one last day with my cousins. I highly recommend coco horchata, best drink ever!!⭐️ We didn’t quite get to eat lunch with them as we had to catch our flight at 5 but it was a nice way to say goodbye. After what felt like an endless amount of hugs and kisses we left Mazatlan after the best 4 days!! ❤️Read more