Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Chicago

    May 27, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    Chicago was actually so good and much better than I expected it to be. We stayed in a really nice hotel in a nice area where I had a king bed all to myself! We spent the first day meeting more family where we had a nice dinner together. The second day however we were able to look around the city. We took the L (metro) into town to the bean which is this massive mirrored sculpture that looks like a bean. On the way we witnessed the Memorial Day Parade which I didn’t know was on. Afterwards we went to the art institute of Chicago which has to be the best and biggest museum I’ve ever been to. I got lost a couple times and you could easily spend multiple days in there. I saw so many of my favourite paintings from Monet, Van Gogh and my favourite painting Nighthawks. Next we went to try authentic deep dish pizza which comes from Chicago. It was so busy that we had to wait an hour so in the meantime we went to a pub and had a beer. I had a Guinness. We finally got our pizza and it was massive and so thick I had about three pieces. One spontaneous thing we did was climb a random skyscraper to get a free view of Chicago’s skyline. We just walked into a building got into a lift and went to the top. The people were really nice and as it was a restaurant we were allowed up to get good views of the city. Then we went for a walk along the river which is surprisingly clean before catching the L back home. I really enjoyed Chicago and highly recommend it even though it’s not as popular as New York and LA it was probably the nicest big city so far.Read more