Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 37

    Made it to Down Under 🙌🏽

    January 23 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    After around 25h of travelling I finally arrived in Brisbane! 🥳
    Everything went quiet well, even the visa on arrival which I had to get for my overlay in Indonesia went smooth and I was perfectly in time for my flights to and within Australia.
    At check-in (yeah, had to check out & back in in Bali 🙄) I was told that I would have to do the same in Melbourne, because my connecting flight was domestic and thus I had to enter customs at the first stop in Aussie. Looks like they recently changed that, as not even locals knew they had to do it. 😬 that made my schedule pretty tight, but I can be fast if I want to, so no need to worry I thought 😉
    Also, I was seated next to 2 really nice girls, plane started taxiing in time, so all seemed well. Until...we stopped and the captain said that we're back at the boarding gate as one passenger needs to be removed from the plane 🤣
    All in all it took 1 hour until the passenger had left, his bags were taken off the plane, every bag 5 rows before & behind his seat has been identified and we got a new starting permit 😬🙈 at that point I knew there's no way I'm gonna make it to my connecting flight - just like around 30% of that plane haha, so at least I wasn't the only one 🙆🏼‍♀️
    Finally made it to Brisbane almost 4 hours later than planned. 🙈

    It feels kind of weird to be back in a western culture...and to the prices here - a coffee is now around 5$ instead of 1,5$ 😬💸 butbat least there's nice bathrooms everywhere again 🚽😆

    I spent the afternoon walking around a bit, exploring the area around the hostel and ended up at a really nice park nearby 🦎🌴🌳🌺
    In the evening there was a nice get together ans a common dinner at the hostel, where I met super nice people and got inspirations and suggestions for the trip 🥰

    Soundtrack of the day:
    Down under - Sander W., Sönnefelt. Nick Cunningham
    https://open.spotify.com/track/6ZOuNLAbh3fKSIxr…
    Read more