Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 140

    Kluane National Park

    September 17, 2019 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Today I drove a couple of hours through the clouds to get to Kluane National Park. On my way there, I was considering turning around because I literally could not see a thing with it being so cloudy!! I arrived at the visitor centre to get a map of the hiking trails and the lady told me a certain trail to do because it was in the forest so didn’t matter if it was cloudy or not. I stopped by a hostel to rent some bear spray for the day and they told me to do the King’s Throne hike...so I headed there and as if by magic, there were clear skies and sunshine!! Boy, it was a hard hike though! Very steep, and mostly shale/rock underfoot so a bit of a scramble most of the way up! Made it tough coming down. But the views... wow!! After the hike, I spent some time sitting at Kathleen lake before I headed to my next hike.

    The next hike I did was Rock Glacier. It wasn’t so long or steep but as it was an old glacier, underfoot was all rock again so kind of tricky. On the way down, I thought I was going to have my first bear encounter. Turns out, it was just a bear shaped thing ..phew!!!

    Headed back to my hostel and the drive was amazing because I could actually see what was around me! An early night tonight again I think, and expecting my body to feel the hikes in the morning!
    Read more