Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day Three: Edinburgh

    March 18 in Scotland ⋅ ⛅ 9 °C

    The first full day in Europe, and of course, I finished with solid 23 thousand steps. And man, those are hard steps with many hills and uneven ground; extra tough when considering I am breaking in new shoes. But it was amazing to just experience the area and culture. It's incredible the number of people I've spoken to from Europe who don't have their drivers license. Everything is just easier without a car over here. Honestly I am already starting to love that, but I have almost walked across too many streets forgetting about cars, on top of looking the wrong way because they all drive on the wrong side of the road! But today the highlight was for sure Dean town, it is an old area with beautiful buildings and a river but the best part was the path beside the river where we took the photos on the tree. A truly zen place to listen to the water and some beautiful bird calls. Amanda talked about how Ivy is almost a weed over here, but man, it is so breathtaking to see it on the trees and buildings. I also got to see my first crazy church, and man, the size and style is just so incredible. My mouth was open the whole time. We even got to hear the organ play! Unfortunately, the food has been slightly disappointing. I'm not sure what I was expecting, but everything here is so expensive and just average. For example, I bought a burger, side fries, and a beer for 30 pounds! More than at home, yet you don't tip, so it equals out a bit? There isn't even an option to tip! I can not complain because being here is treat enough. The food might not be everything, but we did do a whiskey tasting where I got to appreciate how amazing Scotch Whiskey really is, I even have a new one I want to show my dad! I have been trying extra hard to take lots of photos and I already feel so good about, it is nice as it is to live in the moment, but it's extra nice to look back and relive the moment; it also helps when you feel like you look good in some of them!Read more