Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Day Seventeen: The "busy" Madrid Day

    April 1 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    Today was our only full day in Madrid, so we planned to wake up early and see as much as possible. But as we have already learned a few times, drinking and staying up late has its repercussions. We woke up at about 11:00... so there went half our day. Luckily, we were not as hungover, just tired. So we stopped for food and coffee, I got a grilled chicken burger, which was as good as you can tell. Then we decided to go off to El Retiro Park. And I have never seen a bigger park in a city before... we honestly spend the whole afternoon here, and we still missed some stuff in it. Turns out there is a whole soccer field we never saw. I dont even feel bad for missing anything because of how beautiful it was. It was so nice to just walk around, and it was on the first full days of the sun. And holy, it was nice. I even bought sunscreen for my neck because it was worried! We even ran into one of the people from last night there, we walked around for a bit with them, but they were so hungover they just kind of left. And later, when I posted on instagram from the park, someone from porto responded that they were their too, on the same day! But we even found a little green hill to just lay down to enjoy the sun. There was a massive monument that was 30 meters tall by a huge pool. I wish I was cool enough to have a monument that large! There was even another pool that had koi fish, turtles, and black swans as well as a large greenhouse right beside this. We were sitting by the water, and I was just playing around, and a Koi fish even tried to eat my finger on top of a turtle just swimming up right in front of to stare through my soul. It was the perfect place to be hungover. We were leaving and saw that there was a rose garden we somehow missed, so we turned around and walked about 10 minutes to see it. No roses though ahaha, guess they haven't bloomed yet. Afterward, we e-scootered back to the hostel, stopped for a small meal, and just chilled. I was tired so I just stayed and went to bed. Ethan found some friends from last night so decided to go out again. I am sure he had a good night!Read more