Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Wind and Rain on the Plains

    September 16, 2016 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    After a very relaxing and welcomed stay in a hotel, I was rested and ready for another long day of riding. My destination is Cow Creek campground in Pierre, South Dakota which is just shy of 400 miles of riding. I set of under cloudy skies with a forecast of sun at my destination. As I leave the city, the skies start to clear and the day becomes partly sunny, which is perfect riding weather. As I continue to ride, I see several animals along the way. I forget to mention that the day before it was 6 deer crossing the road in the middle of the day. Today I saw a bald eagle, some type of falcon, sea gulls!?, and pelicans!!! Yeah, pelicans and gulls in South Dakota! What the hell is happening?

    Anywho, as I cross into South Dakota around 2pm, the clouds on the horizon are getting dark. It looks like another day of mixed weather. While the clouds are dark, I don't see any rain in my path. I see some to the left and since to the right, but none in my road. Soon I pass under the storm clouds and it's sunny again. This happens twice more, but then it was finally time. The rain got right in my path and poured just long enough to soak my socks. My feet were condemned to the cold for the rest of the day.

    It was also very windy today. I was now only getting to 150 miles to reserve instead of 180. The wind was almost entirely responsible. As the day went on the wind got worse. Towards the end of the day I felt like a bobble head. My neck muscles are definitely getting a work out. At about 7, I pull into camp. I am right on the Missouri River, or lake Oahe. The campsite is a peninsula sticking out into the lake, and the sun is setting. Just after sunset I turn around and there is a big beautiful moon! It must be a full moon tonight. A perfect reward for a long day of wet, cold, bobble head riding.

    Pictures: clouds ahead. Imminent rain. At long last, camp. My tent. Sunset over the lake. Moon rise over the lake, 180 degrees from sunset. I guess I have to take selfies...
    Read more